50% of Oreo Eaters Pull Their Cookies Apart Before Eating…

I am not part of that 50%. And for this blog post, I beat them with a wooden spoon and bake them into a chocolate chocolate chip cookie dough. Uh…YUM!

So anyways…

I was sitting at work the other day CRAVING chocolate like a crazy person. And I mean crazy – I would have dunked my face in melted chocolate if I could.

My coworker Cathy keeps a candy bucket (yes, a bucket!) on her desk filled with chocolate goodies. I sampled a few dark chocolate nuggets and then spent the rest of the afternoon thinking about getting my next “fix”.

It was around the time that I realized I would put my face in chocolate that I decided that I was going to make an outrageously sweet, indulgent, rich, creamy, chocolaty dessert that night. Possibly something handheld, possibly something I could cover in ice cream.

But what would it be? What would satisfy this ridiculous urge to bathe in chocolate? I knew right where to go – I headed over to the How Sweet It Is blog. This girl not only knows how to cook and bake, but takes drool worthy photographs of it all. I went to the recipe index and decided to browse the cookie link. Some were hitting the right buttons but it wasn’t until the 2nd page where I knew I had hit the jackpot.

DOUBLE. FUDGE. OREO. CRUNCH. COOKIES – I’m about to fall out just writing it!

Bingo…BAM…Shazam…THAT was what I was going to make!

Let the adventure begin:

Sift 2 cups flour, 1/2 cocoa powder, 1 teaspoon baking soda and 1/4 teaspoon salt together into a bowl. Mix until combined.

In a larger bowl, add 1 cup butter (already at room temperature), 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar, 2 eggs, and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Cream with electric beaters until fluffy (about 2 minutes).

Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet – about a cup at a time. Beat with electric mixer until all of the dry and wet are combined.

Fold in 1 cup chocolate chips and 2 cups crushed oreos. I used Ghirardelli dark chocolate morsels. To crush the Oreos, I put 6 cookies at a time into a quart sized ziploc bag, I took the back of a wooden spoon and hit them. Simple as that! AND it seems like a great way to take out your aggression if you have any! I used 1 sleeve of Oreos for the two cups crushed.

Now you’ll have this delicious looking Oreo and chocolate chip, chocolate cookie dough. Here is some sad news, you have to refrigerate this drool worthy dough for up to two hours. I know! I’m sorry you have to wait that long!! So go ahead, take a little taste of the dough. It tastes like Coldstone Creamery’s cake batter ice cream with Oreos! I promise it will get you over your chocolate cravings until it is time to put them into the oven.

After refrigeration, preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Roll dough into balls and place on the cookie sheet. To keep mine uniform, I used a tablespoon to measure the dough before rolling. With this method, I got about 40 cookies out of the recipe.

Bake for 10-12 minutes. My cookies were perfectly cooked at 10 minutes, but every oven varies. Volia! Beautiful cookies 🙂

Are you drooling yet? Well just wait until I show you my “artsy” cookie pictures. I am still trying to master the skill of food photography. I think this is getting better, no?

I would highly recommend this recipe to fix any chocolate cravings. Next time I make these,  I think I’ll use Double Stuffed Oreos and make the cookies a bit bigger (maybe 2 tablespoons for each cookie?). I really liked when I got a bite of the white frosting in the Oreo.

You can find the original recipe for these Double Fudge Oreo Crunch Cookies  Here on the How Sweet It Is blog. My only modification was adding an extra cup of crushed Oreos and getting fancy with the chocolate chips.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

