Guess Who’s Back….Back Again!

Forgive me readers, for I have sinned. It has been FIFTY SIX days since my last blog post.

I know you are probably disappointed in me; I am a little bit as well. But don’t think I quit my dream entirely! For the past month and a half I have been baking something from scratch once a week! At least I am fulfilling that part of the goal! Right?…Right!

I just haven’t had time to sit down and write about my baking escapades. Every time I tried, I couldn’t get the words out. I want to entertain you with a story as well as teach you how to make a (hopefully!) delectable treat.

So here I am, back again! And I will make an honest effort to take the time to blog about my adventures in baking. I don’t want to let myself or my readers down. Let us begin this new leaf with a semi-success:

Nutella and PB&Nutella Dipped Cookie Balls

I was coming up on the end of July and had slim to no expendable money to spend on extra baking supplies. In an effort to continue with my weekly baking goal, I was determined to find something to make with the ingredients I already had.

I had all of the basic ingredients for chocolate chip cookies minus one insignificant item…chocolate chips! 🙂 What to do…what to do? In comes Nutella to the rescue! Yes, I could have mixed the nutella into the cookie dough, but that’s no fun. So I decided to make an easy cookie dough recipe into an extravagant pain in the butt.

I googled “Cookie Balls” and came upon this recipe. The story was nice and she clearly worked hard to modify the recipe. I decided to give it a go – with the intention of leaving out the chocolate chips and dipping the cookie balls into nutella after baking.

Follow the recipe for preparing your wet and dry ingredients. You’ll want to mix the wet into the dry.

As her tutorial states “It will look like there is entirely too much flour and not enough wet.”

But I promise you, if you keep working at it you will eventually get it all mixed in there. Here is a picture of my finished dough ball.

The recipe calls for the dough to be refrigerated at least 20 minutes before baking. I wrapped my dough ball in saran wrap and did just that. I wrapped the dough in the saran wrap for no particular reason, although now that I’m writing this post I was thinking it might be a great idea to keep the moisture in!

After refrigeration I used a teaspoon to scoop out dough balls from my (hard as a rock) dough mixture.

I took the scoop from the teaspoon and rolled the dough in the palm of my hands until it was uniformly circular. I then placed it onto a greased cookie sheet.

I baked the cookie balls for 10 minutes at 350 degrees. While the balls were in the oven, I prepared my “Nutella dipping station” by simply spooning nutella into a bowl. I didn’t want to waste the Nutella by using too much so I started with a small amount. I also created a “PB&Nutella dipping station” by adding JIF Natural PB.

After 10 minutes in the oven, my cookie balls looked like this:

.

Cute, right? Almost immediately (when I could bear to touch the cookies) I placed them into the dipping stations.

It is important to put the cookies into the Nutella while they are hot because it will melt the Nutella and ensure it sticks onto the cookie. Leave the cookie ball in the dip for about 10 seconds and gently twist while pulling it out. The twisting make the Nutella do a nice little flip at the top of the cookie ball.

This recipe made about 40 cookie balls. I dipped half in the Nutella and half in the PB and Nutella mixture.

I’m calling this a semi-success because the cookies were rather dry. I’m a fan of a gooey chocolate chip cookie that is soft and melts in your mouth. These…were not those cookies. These cookie balls were a bit dryer and would have gone well with a hot tea or coffee on the side. I made everyone who tasted these cookie balls score them from 1 – 10 (10 being the best). These averaged a 6 and it was unanimous that the PB&Nutella Cookie Balls were better than the plain Nutella.

I don’t know if I have any advice to make this recipe taste better. But they’re worth a try if you need some cookies for your tea party. I’m not sure people have those anymore…but this would be the cookie for it!

Well, thanks for reading! I am happy to be back and will try my absolute best to keep up with the blog posts. Until next time…

 

 

PS: If you read the title of this post and automatically thought of Eminem’s song “Without Me”  then you deserve a giant pat on the back.

 

Leave a Reply

