Over Under Chocolate Thunder

Why yes, that IS my wrestling name.

In 7th grade I was obsessed with The Rock, known today as Dwayne Johnson or more embarrassingly as the Tooth Fairy. As a 13 year old girl, he was sexy! So I may have become interested because the boy I had a crush on liked him as well, but once I saw him kicking butt on that square stage, covered in oil, wearing little bikini briefs, I was hooked. “Do you smelllllll what The Rock is cooking?!??” I certainly did ;) I was so obsessed that I:

1. Read his 300 page book “The Rock Says”

2. Learned how to control the movement of my eyebrows to mimic his signature eyebrow arch

3. Created my own wrestling name

I’m trying to remember why I thought of the name Over Under Chocolate Thunder and what it even means…but I honestly have zero idea. I’m embarrassed to even write about this, but the dessert I’m about to blog about reminded me of it for some reason. And you know what? Feel free to judge me – this wrestling loving phase only lasted about 6 months when I got a new crush AND Dwyane Johnson has since redeemed himself with the movie The Scorpion King.

Before I go crawl under a rock for this TMI divulgence, let me tell you about the delicious cupcakes I made for my friend Kristen’s birthday party!

Chocolate Moron Cake (“so easy even a moron can do it”)

Also called Our Family’s Favorite Chocolate Cake  

Which will henceforth be known as…. Chocolate Thunder Cake (in this case, cupcakes)

Everyone in my family will try to tell you that this is a *secret* recipe. BUT I looked up about 10 different chocolate cake recipes on AllRecipes.com and more than half were identical to ours. SO I’m being a rebel and I will post our recipe here:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Sift 2 cups flour, 2 cups granulated sugar, 2/3 cup cocoa, 2 teaspoons baking soda and 2 teaspoons baking powder into a large bowl. Make a “well” for the wet ingredients to sit.

Add 2 eggs, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract, 2/3 cup vegetable oil into the well:

Mix wet into dry with a wisk. Add 2 cups boiling water and mix again. Note: the batter will be very watery (this is where the moistness comes from!).

Pour batter into a greased 9×13 pan and bake for 30-35 minutes. I decided to make cupcakes, so I put 3 tablespoons of batter into 24 cupcake tins.

I frosted the cupcakes using our family’s “secret” Chocolate Buttercream Frosting

Recipe:

Cream 2 sticks of unsalted butter (softened, not melted) with an electric mixer on medium speed for 2 minutes. Sift 3 cups of confectioner’s sugar and 2/3 cup cocoa into a separate bowl. Add the sugar/cocoa into the creamed butter a little at a time. Use the electric mixer on the lowest speed so you don’t blow the powder everywhere.  Keep adding the sugar/cocoa mix into the butter until all of it is added and is mixed together. Add 1/2 teaspoon salt, 2 teaspoons vanilla extract and 4 tablespoons milk to the bowl. Mix on medium speed for 2-3 minutes. This was the perfect consistency to pipe onto cupcakes – if you want a thicker consistency, add more sugar.

Let the cake/cupcakes cool completely before frosting!

The only piping technique I knew how to do was the Open Star (bottom left) using a Wilton 1M tip. I remembered a How To Frost Cupcakes Tutorial on the Glorious Treats blog so I went to that website, watched the video and learned how to make a Rose (bottom right) and a “Star Burst” (top left) using the same 1M tip. The one on the top right was me letting my creative juices fly, I’m not sure if it is a real pattern but I used the 1M tip in case you wanted to copy it.

Here are some lessons learned during this baking escapade:

1. Use “greaseproof” or “glassine” cupcake liners if you want the pattern to show after you’ve baked the cupcake. As you can see from the picture of the lone cupcake, there are two liners on there. The chocolate cake was too dark and you couldn’t see the pretty pattern after baking them!

2. Think about how you’re going to be getting the cupcakes to their destination ahead of time. I didn’t do this and ended up taking the DC metro with them during rush hour…NOT a fun time.

I ended up making it to the party successfully with no casualties! And these cupcakes went over very well. If you are in need of an impressive, easy to bake, moist, chocolaty treat, then this recipe is sure to please!

One thought on “Over Under Chocolate Thunder

Leave a Reply

